The kid from the movie Terminator 2 was arrested yesterday for domestic battery in West Hollywood, California. The actors’ name is Edward Furlong and he is now 35. Furlong is due in court on January 25, in Beverly Hills Superior Court. Furlong was also arrested back in October for allegedly violating a restraining order. According to information made pubic by the Los Angeles County Sheriff’s Department, furlong has at least to misdemeanor cases pending against him.
Furlong’s case in October appears to be in court at the “Airport” location on La Cienega Boulevard while his new case appears to be in Beverly Hills. This arrest was made by the West Hollywood Sheriff’s Office after the sheriffs responded to a domestic abuse call in the West Hollywood area.
Domestic violence arrests require not only an allegation of a battery, but also a dating, cohabitating or marriage relationship between alleged victim and perpetrator. In Furlong’s case his bail was set at $20,000 for the new case and an additional $30,000 for the warrant that was out for his arrest. The warrant is likely for violating probation or failing to perform required tasks in the restraining order case. The good news is that the bail amount of $20,000 in the new case is a good indication that the injuries alleged are very minor.
Bail in California is set by law. A given charge corresponds to a set bail amount. Bail for felony domestic battery is $50,000. Thus, this case is likely to be a misdemeanor prosecution based upon minor injuries.
In California domestic violence is what is know as a wobbler charge. This is to say that it can be charged either as a felony or a misdemeanor. A felony is punishable by more than a year in a state prison or jail or a fine while a misdemeanor is punishable by up to one year in county jail or by a fine.
A conviction for domestic violence under California Penal Codes Section 273.5 or 243 (e) also requires specific terms and conditions when probation is granted. A mandatory period of probation of three years is required, as is a year of weekly domestic violence counseling classes. Certain fines and fees are required and mandatory check-ins in court at least every three months. Finally, there is a ten year ban on owning or possessing a firearm.
If you have questions about this or any other criminal law matter, call me at (818) 783-5700 or email me at firstname.lastname@example.org or visit my websites for more information www.4criminaldefense.com or www.westlakecriminaldefense.com